REXFORD FIRE DISTRICT 2024 ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING JANUARY 8, 2024

The meeting was called to order by Linda Van Schaick, Secretary/Treasurer and Presiding Officer at 7:00 p.m.

Members of the Board of Fire Commissioners present: P. Van Schaick, L. Gates, M. Trombley, R. Cote, P. Krawiecki, L. Van Schaick.

The following resolution was passed by unanimous vote on a motion by M. Trombley/R. Cote.

BE IT RESOLVED that Larry Gates is hereby appointed as Chairman of the Board of Commissioners of the Rexford Fire District. L. Gates continued the meeting.

The following resolution was passed by unanimous vote on a motion by P. Van Schaick/M. Trombley.

BE IT RESOLVED that the regular meetings of the Rexford Fire District will be held on the second Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m. at the Rexford Firehouse located at 1601 Route 146, Rexford, New York 12148. The location and time of the meeting may be changed by further resolution of the Board of Fire Commissioners upon proper notification to the local media of such change.

The following resolution was passed by unanimous vote on a motion by R. Cote/M. Trombley.

BE IT RESOLVED that Linda Van Schaick is hereby appointed secretary of the Rexford Fire District. Said secretary is also appointed the Public Information Officer of the Rexford Fire District.

The following resolution was passed by unanimous vote on a motion by M. Trombley/P. Van Schaick.

BE IT RESOLVED that the Daily Gazette Newspaper is the designated Official Newspaper of the Rexford Fire District. This publication is in general circulation within the Rexford Fire District.

The following resolution was passed by unanimous vote on a motion by P. Krawiecki/R. Cote.

BE IT RESOLVED that the Rexford Fire District will maintain membership in the following organizations:

- Association of Fire District of the State of New York
- New York Association of Fire Chief's.

The following resolution was passed by unanimous vote on a motion by R. Cote/M. Trombley.

BE IT RESOLVED that the Treasurer of the Rexford Fire District is authorized to pay in advance of an audit by this Board of Fire Commissioners of the Rexford Fire District the following claims. Such claims must be presented to the next meeting of the Board of Fire Commissioners of the Rexford Fire District for audit:

- Utility payment to National Grid
- Telephone payment to Charter Communications
- Cell phones payment to T-Mobile
- Roadrunner payment to Spectrum
- Payment to the U.S. Postmaster for postage expenses

- Water payment to the Town of Clifton Park
- Fuel payment to Town of Clifton Park.

The following resolution was passed by unanimous vote on a motion by P. Van Schaick/M. Trombley.

BE IT RESOLVED that the Rexford Fire District will work with Firefly Admin. Inc. as the administrator of the Service Award Program, with RBC Wealth Management as financial advisor.

The following were appointed or established by unanimous vote on a motion by M. Trombley/R. Cote.

- The surety bond of the Treasurer shall be maintained at the recommended amount by the insurance company;
- Official Bank: 1st National Bank of Scotia;
- Attorneys: D'Amato Law Group LLP;
- Signer of checks: Linda Van Schaick, Treasurer or R. Cote;
- Signer of credit cards: L. Gates, L. Van Schaick, R. Cote, A. Cote, M. Westbrook.

The Fire Department Officers have been submitted for approval as follows:

- Chief, A. Cote
- 1st Assistant Chief, Maria Westbrook
- 2nd Assistant Chief, Vacant

A motion to approve the slate of Chief Officers as presented was approved on a motion by P. Van Schaick/M. Trombley.

Service Award Program: It was noted that awarding of points for 2024 was approved of a motion by P. Van Schaick/M. Trombley.

Committee Chairs for the Board of Fire Commissioners were approved by unanimous consent of the Board on a motion by P. Van Schaick/M. Trombley:

- Building Maintenance: R. Cote and M. Trombley
- Building Usage: R. Cote
- Fire Equipment & Apparatus: L. Gates and M. Trombley
- Service Award Program: P. Van Schaick and P. Krawiecki
- Insurance: P. Van Schaick and P. Krawiecki
- District Long Range Planning: P. Van Schaick, R. Cote, L. Gates, M. Trombley, P. Krawiecki.
- Budget Committee: Board Members and Treasurer
- New Legislation Committee: P. Van Schaick, M. Trombley, P. Krawiecki
- Security: L. Gates

Approval was given on a motion by P. Van Schaick/P. Krawiecki to retain Bryans & Gramuglia for auditing service.

Approval was given on a motion by R. Cote/P. Van Schaick to continue the cancer insurance rider for firefighters with McNeal Insurance.

The following were appointed or established by unanimous consent of the Board on a motion by M. Trombley/P. Van Schaick.

- Vander Molen Repair will be the provider of maintenance and emergency repairs of fire apparatus breakdowns of large equipment.
- Smith's Automotive will be the provider for small repairs to the fire equipment and Chief's vehicles.
- RMB Mechanical will be the provider for heating and air conditioning repairs
- Milton Caterpillar will be the provider for generator repairs
- Document Solutions of the North Country will be the provider for copier maintenance and repairs
- Maloney Plumbing LLC
- John Ray & Sons will be the provider for diesel fuel
- Charlton Septic Service for maintenance and service
- Apex Sewer & Drain for maintenance and service
- Alarm & Suppression, Inc. for the hood inspection
- Northeast Fire Protection for extinguishers and alarm system maintenance
- MES for the breathing compressor, SCBA repair and service
- Accurate Pest Control for monthly pest maintenance
- Grastorf Enterprises for landscaping and snow plowing
- Premier Maintenance for emergency building maintenance
- Access Compliance, LLC for medical services
- Wiring Concepts Ken Deming for electrical services
- Logical Net for internet and computer maintenance and security

Approval was given on a motion by M. Trombley/R. Cote for the John McLane Hose Company to provide fire service personnel for the District/

Approval to adjourn the meeting at 7:15 p.m. was given on a motion by R. Cote/P. Krawiecki...

Respectfully submitted,

Linda Van Schaick Secretary